An image.
Home | The Paper | Subscribe | Contact Us
Wednesday, October 07, 2015
  • You are here:
  •  : 
  •  : 
  • letters to the editor
  • Tuesday, October 06, 2015 12:44 AM
    We live in a modern day prohibition. 
  • Tuesday, October 06, 2015 12:37 AM
    I feel it necessary to respond to the recent article concerning the local Red Cross.   
  • Saturday, October 03, 2015 3:24 AM
    Dear Editor:
    On August 8,2015 Heaven welcomed an angel, Patti Zimmerman. I, along with our children Bruce and Tami, would like to extend a sincere appreciation for all the out pouring of love during her passing. 
  • Wednesday, September 30, 2015 12:53 AM
    Dear Editor,
    As the Speaker of the House John Boehner resigns we now witness the calls for Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell to step down.  Behind the scenes, special interest groups and lobbyists are working overtime to make sure that no matter who steps into these positions, they are backing the winner. 
  • Tuesday, September 29, 2015 12:10 AM
    In the Tuesday September 22nd edition of the Journal Review, there was an article titled “Short life of Baby Doe is marked by abuse”.  This article, picked up from the Associated Press, was about a 2 year old girl in Boston whose mother and boyfriend are charged in her death.   Her death was a horrific tragedy preceded by an alleged history of neglect and abuse.  One of the most tragic aspects of this story was perhaps it could have been prevented. 
  • Tuesday, September 22, 2015 12:00 AM
    Dear Editor,
    The Montgomery County Commissioners will receive a recommendation Monday September 28 from County Clerk and Election Board member Jennifer Bentley to purchase new voting machines. The bi-partisan Election Board recommends acceptance of the bid from RBM Consulting for new voting machines that will support Vote Centers.  The League of Women Voters supports the move from precinct polling places to vote centers as long as voter convenience is assured and not compromised. 
  • Friday, September 18, 2015 8:44 PM

    Dear Editor,

    The family of Helen Reynolds would like to express our appreciation to Dr. Mathison, Dr. Rhees, Dr. Chico, the staff at Marie Canine Cancer Center, the nurses, nurse aides and all of the assisted living staff at Wellbrooke of Crawfordsville, the staff of Home by Choice and Southern Care Hospice who cared for, encouraged and loved her.

    We would like to thank the bereavement committee of New Hope Christian Church and the faculty and staff of Southmont Junior High School for their gracious contributions of food for the funeral.

    Thank you to Pastor Gary Keller and Pastor Mike Keller for performing the funeral service. We would also like to thank Powers-Priebe Funeral Home and Mace Cemetery.

  • Tuesday, September 15, 2015 10:59 PM

    Dear Editor,

    Stellarbration 2015 is in the books! I did not and could not have done it alone. I would like to take a second to thank everyone that helped me. This is a difficult task as I had lots of helpers, but I’ll try my best and apologize in advance for anyone I forget. To Anne Siphilamani, Ron and Nancy Seaman, Sue Lucas, Fawn Johnson, Brandy Allen and Megan Huckstep, thank you for seeing my vision, helping me refine it and bring it to fruition. To my Crawfordsville Main Street team, thank you so, so much for showing up in the heat and helping me decorate. I know it wasn’t pleasant, but I really think we got the “wow” factor we were going for. To the Montgomery County Community Foundation staff and balloon inflating team, thank you for offering up your space and helping us with the balloons. To Milligan’s Flowers, thank you for stepping in at the last minute and decorating the mums. They were prettier than what I had envisioned and really made the tables look elegant.  
  • Monday, September 14, 2015 11:07 PM

    Dear Editor,

    I was having a beverage with some friends the other day and as usual, the topic turned to politics. This became a broad discussion on issues such as the dissatisfaction with the President issuing executive orders, Congress' inability to effectively legislate, the Supreme Court legislating instead of adjudicating, the Federal deficit, etc. The natural tendency of these discussions then leads to the upcoming elections and which candidate is best able to cure these serious issues. And that, my friends, is the problem. 

  • Thursday, September 10, 2015 12:11 AM

    Dear Editor,

    The government spends millions of dollars on TV and newspaper advertising asking the public's help in identifying and prosecuting Medicare fraud. However, when I made them aware of cut and dry abuse and / or out-and-out fraud, Medicare just blew me off. A foreign doctor at a Florida Hospital emergency room charged Medicare $1,698 and didn't even talk to me, let alone treat me. Another doctor (also foreign, for what it's worth) walked past me while I was being staged in the hallway for three hours, shook my hand and said that someone else would be taking care of me. Yet, he submitted a charge to Medicare for $220. The third doctor to submit a charge visited me for a total of two minutes (my wife timed her) but spoke in such a heavy foreign accent that neither one of us could understand a word she said. Nonetheless, she submitted a claim for a "45-minute consultation." It's clear to me that the foreign doctors in our American hospitals have figured out how to rip off not only their "patients," but the Medicare system in general. Then, to add insult to injury, Senators Coats and Donnelly weren't any help either. Coats blew me off completely and Donnelly requested that I again send him all of the documentation and copies that I had already just sent him via certified mail. This is precisely why taxpayers are fed up with the federal government and why Congress' approval rating is only 11 percent. You try to be a good citizen and this is the thanks you get! I give up.


The Paper of Montgomery County,
a division of Sagamore News Media

101 W. Main Street, Suite 300
P.O. Box 272
Crawfordsville, Indiana 47933
(765) 361-0100
(765) 361-8888
(765) 361-5901
(765) 361-0100 Ext. 18
(765) 361-8888

Our app is now available!