The Paper of Montgomery Co. | Crawfordsville, IN
Cville Steel

Home | Subscribe | The Paper | Contact Us

home : news : local news February 26, 2015

4/15/2014 2:00:00 AM
Three South schools earn five stars
The Paper

NEW MARKET -- Three South Montgomery Schools received state honors.

Ladoga Elementary School, Walnut Elementary School and Southmont High School all earned a top honor from the Indiana Department of Education, South Montgomery Community School Corporation Superintendent Shawn Greiner said.

Greiner announced at the Monday night school board meeting that the three schools were named a 2012-13 Four Star School. He said that South's three schools were the only ones in Montgomery County to receive the Four Star designation.

Each year, the Indiana Department of Education recognizes schools that perform in the upper 25th percentile of schools in performance on ISTEP+ and ECA state exams, as well their rating determined by the national No Child Left Behind statute's Adequate Yearly Progress. This year's complete list of schools have not been released yet on the IDOE website.

The board's next meeting is May 12.

In other business, the board approved:

-consulting Enviro-Max, looking for ways to save money when it comes to energy, electricity and fuel.

-Waveland Elementary's sixth grade class trip to Saint Louis

-the IMaC Grant student trip to Madison Consolidated Schools was also approved.

-retirements of Jean Ann Craycroft and Jean Rasmussen, both of New Market Elementary School and Jean Ann Craycraft of Southmont High School.

- Marvin Walters, Kyle Myers, Randy Christensen, Kenall Carr, Cami Baker, Bart Jochim, Tim Flagg, Amy Zachary, Richard Harpold, Greg Burton, Austin Burton and Tina Swisher as track coaches

-Jamie Welliever, Buck Waddell, Jerry Long and Dan Chadd as baseball coaches

-Bob Surber and Ron Owens as golf coaches

-Mark Casteel and Brandon Froedge as softball coaches

-Mallory Kessler and Jeana Rayman as junior class co-sponsors

-Paula Hemphill as a girls' tennis coach.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

About The PaperWebcastAnnouncement FormsPhoto GalleryLife
The Paper of Montgomery County,
a division of Sagamore News Media

101 W. Main Street, Suite 300
P.O. Box 272
Crawfordsville, Indiana 47933
(765) 361-0100
(765) 361-8888
(765) 361-5901
(765) 361-0100 Ext. 18
(765) 361-8888

Software © 1998-2015 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved
Advanced Search

Subscription Login

Announcement Forms
Photo Gallery
Montgomery Memories