The first session of the 118th Indiana General Assembly convened Monday, Jan. 7 at 1:30 p.m. The General Assembly meets annually, and the 2013 session must end by April 29. The House of Representatives has 100 members, elected every two years. The Senate has 50 members who are elected for a term of four years with one half of the Senators being elected biennially.

Montgomery County is represented by Senator Phil Boots who has served since 2006. He is Chair of Pensions & Labor Committee and a member of Standing Committees of Environmental Affairs and Local Government. Senator Boots also serves Fountain, Parke, Vermillion, Warren counties and portions of Boone County.

In 2010, Boots was awarded the Outstanding State Senator, by the Indiana Retired Teachers Association and Small Business Champion, by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce.

A graduate of New Market High School, Senator Boots attended Wabash College and Milligan College (Tennessee), and served in the First Cavalry Division of the U.S. Army in Vietnam. He is Owner and Operator of Boots Bros Oil Company in Crawfordsville and co-owner of The Paper of Montgomery County and The Noblesville Times.

Dr. Tim N. Brown has served in the House of Representatives since 1994. His House District 41 includes portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.

Rep. Brown has been named Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee for the 118th Session.

Rep. Brown received his BA from Illinois Wesleyan University and his M.D. degree from the University of Illinois. He serves as an Emergency Room Doctor for St. Elizabeth Hospital in Crawfordsville.

Elected to the State Legislature in November, Sharon Negele represents House District 13 which includes: three western townships of Montgomery County as well as Benton, Fountain, Jasper, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. Rep. Negele has been assigned to Agriculture and Rule Development Committee and also Ways and Means.

A native of Detroit, Michigan, she earned her bachelor's degree in Finance from Western Michigan University and her MBA (concentration in Finance) from University of Houston. She and her husband moved to Attica in 1996. Rep. Negele has worked

14 years in corporate finance for energy and telecommunications companies, 17 years as small business owner of Wolf's Homemade Candies, three years as a grant writer/administrator and nine years as Clerk/Treasurer for the City of Attica.

Members of the Senate have elected David Long as President Pro Tempore and Sue Landske Asst. President Pro Tempore. Minority Leader is Timothy Lanane and Asst. Minority Leader Jean Breaux. The Minority Caucus Chair is Jim Arnold

Members of the House have elected Brian C. Bosma as Speaker of the House, and Kathy Kreag Richardson is Majority Caucus Chair. William Friend is Majority Floor Leader. Scott Pelath is Minority Leader. Linda Lawson is Minority Floor Leader and Vanessa Summers the Minority Caucus Chair.

There are a number of deadlines for action on bills in the House and Senate. In the House, deadline for Bill introduction is Jan. 14, 3rd reading for House bills February 25, 3rd reading for Senate Bills April 15, Conference Committee Reports April 15 and the House will adjourn for the Session on April 19.

In the Senate, Jan. 11 is deadline for filing for introduction, Feb. 20 -3rd Reading Senate Bills, April 10-3rd Reading House Bills, April 10 Conference Committee Reports, the Senate will adjourn this Session on April 19.

Whenever a deadline dates falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, that deadline date is extended to the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. The link to the General Assembly web page is:

The League of Women Voters will be following closely the legislative session. The LWV of Indiana Board of Directors has identified Education Issues, particularly mandatory full day kindergarten, Election Laws, and Reproductive Rights as priorities for the upcoming session.

For the2013 legislative session to be productive, legislators in both houses will have to work diligently to allow public input, legislative discussion, and action on bills to better serve the needs of all Hoosiers.

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan, multi-issue political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase public understanding of major policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. All men and women are invited to join LWV where hands-on work to safeguard democracy leads to civic improvement. For information about the League, visit the website: , send a message to LWV, PO Box 101, Crawfordsville, 47933 or e-mail