GOVERNMENT DIRECTORY: Crawfordsville and Montgomery County, Indiana 2013, published by the League of Women Voters, is 24 page booklet with a wealth of information on federal, state, and local governmental elected and appointed officials and expiration date of each term. The 2013 directory includes maps of current County Council, County Commissioner, Crawfordsville and County Voting Districts.

Edited by Deanna Durrett, information is provided about Voter Registration, the Montgomery County Election Board and contact information for state and county political party chair and precinct committee chair.

Contact information for the President of the United States lists address, telephone number, and website. Both Indiana and Washington D.C. contact information are included for Indiana's two United States Senators and Congressman from 4th District.

Indiana state officials posted are the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Auditor, Treasurer, Attorney General, and Superintendent of Public Instruction. Contact information and committee assignments are provided for Indiana Senator for District 23 and House Representatives for Districts 13 and 41.

Montgomery County Elected Judicial Officials are judges of Circuit Court,

Superior Court 1, Superior Court 2, and Prosecuting Attorney. Appointed judicial officials in the Directory are Chief Deputy Prosecutor, Deputy Prosecutor, Child Support Prosecutor, and Probation Chief.

Montgomery County elected officials listed are: Board of County Commissioners, County Council, Assessor, Auditor, Clerk of the Courts, Coroner, Recorder, Sheriff, Surveyor, and Treasurer.

Appointed county officials in the directory are: Attorney, Building Administrator, E911, Emergency Management, Highway Director, Sanitarian, Inspector of Weights and Measures, and Veterans Service Officer.

Nine county appointed boards are included: Drainage Board, Flood Plain Commission, Health Board, Medical Care Trust Board, Plan Commission, Redevelopment Commission, Regional Sewer District, Sheriff's Merit Board, and Sugar Creek Advisory Board.

Crawfordsville elected officials listed are: the Mayor, Clerk/Treasurer, and City Council.

City Council Committees are included. Appointed city officials include Attorney, Fire Chief, Director of Parks and Recreation, Plan Director, Police Chief, Storm Water, Street Commissioner, and Waste Water.

City appointed boards include: Aviation Commissioners, Golf Authority, Historic Preservation Commission, Housing Authority, Parks and Recreation, Plan Commission, Police Commissioners, Public Works and Safety, Redevelopment Authority, Redevelopment Commission, Storm Water Utility Board, Utility Service Board, and Zoning Appeals.

The Directory lists seven joint county/city appointed boards: Alcoholic Beverage Board, E911 Central Communications Governing Board, E911 Central Communications Operations Board, Emergency Management Advisory Council, Sugar Creek and Wabash Trail Authority, Visitor and Convention Commission.

At the township level, the Directory includes the elected Trustee and the Township Boards for each of the eleven townships in Montgomery County, and contacts for each of ten fire departments.

There are ten incorporated towns in Montgomery County-Alamo, Darlington, Ladoga, Linden, New Market, New Richmond, New Ross, Waveland, Waynetown, and Wingate. For each town, the Directory includes the elected Clerk-Treasurer and Town Council and a list of Town Marshals.

The Directory gives information about each of the five public libraries in Montgomery County-Crawfordsville, Darlington, Ladoga-Clerk Township, Linden, and Waveland-Brown Township. Superintendents and school boards of the Crawfordsville School Corporation, North Montgomery School Corporation and South Montgomery School Corporation are also provided.

Lake Holiday Conservancy District is included as well as a listing of organizations receiving local public funds and frequently called numbers.

Funded by contributions to the League of Women Voters Indiana Education Fund, the Government Directory is available to the public at no cost. Copies were distributed at the "State of the Community" Public Forum and are available at the five public libraries and the Chamber of Commerce or can be requested by contacting the LWV at PO Box 101, Crawfordsville or website

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan, multi-issue organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. All men and women are invited to join the LWV where hands-on work to safeguard democracy leads to civic improvement.