Congratulations Montgomery County citizens on outstanding participation in the 2018 General Election! Of 23,177 registered voters, 12,700 or 54.8 percent participated—a record percentage in a non-presidential election year.
Tremendous credit goes to County Clerk Karyn Douglas, the County Election Board, county staff, and dozens of local political leaders and citizens who created and organized unprecedented numbers of opportunities for Montgomery County residents to vote early at the Court House both during the week from October 10-November 5 and on two Saturdays before the Election. In addition, voting took place before the election on five days at Rock Point Church, on Saturday October 27 at the Ladoga Public Library and Darlington Armory, and on November 3 at the Waynetown Christian Church and Waveland Fire Station.
Organization of these opportunities, providing the equipment and many local people to work the early election voting was amazing, and our county in indebted to the officials and citizens who made this possible!
While Montgomery County citizens could vote at any of these early opportunities as well as at any of the Five Vote Centers—Rock Point Church, Friendship Baptist Church, North Montgomery High School, St. Bernard’s Catholic Church, and Whitesville Church—on Election Day, data and statistics are compiled and recorded for each of the 27 Precincts in Montgomery County.
Precinct with highest voter turnout for the 2018 General Election was Union 7 with 67% followed by Union 6 with 64.14% and Crawfordsville Precinct 4 with 62.25%. All seven of the Union Townships were impressive. Following Union 7 and Union 6 were: Union 1-61.72%, Union 2-61.71%, Union 4-61.45%, Union 3-60.53% and Union 5-59.58%.
Montgomery County Township participation was outstanding with all ten townships having higher than 50% turnout. Walnut Township led the way with 59.16%! Sugar Creek Township had 58.45% just ahead of Franklin Township with 58.28%, followed by Ripley Township 57.50%, Scott Township 56.43%, Wayne Township 55.13%, Madison 53.63%, Coal Creek 53.59%, Brown Township 53.33%, and Clark Township 51.17%.
Top precincts in Crawfordsville following Precinct 4 were: Precinct 1-58.97%, Precinct 8-54.82%, and Precinct 2-50.34%.
Election Day provided many challenges for our election officials with some equipment needing to be replaced as polls were to open and some adjustments needed throughout the day, all handled efficiently and with good spirits.
The League of Women Voters commends all officials and poll workers for their tremendous commitment and positive efforts and all Montgomery County citizens who voted--working together to make democracy work!
The League of Women Voters, open to men as well as women, is a nonpartisan, multi-issue political organization which encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase public understanding of major governmental issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. For information about the League, visit the website: or send a message to LWV, PO Box 101, Crawfordsville, IN 47933.