Crawfordsville Mayor Todd Barton Tuesday announced his selection for the first Mayor’s Youth Council that will begin meeting once the students resume school in August. The appointees who will comprise the 12-member council were selected from a group of 21 candidates, each nominated by the three school corporations and the Montgomery County Leadership Academy. Nominees had to meet a list of criteria, complete an essay on why they would like to participate on the Youth Council, and interview with the selection committee. The pool of candidates was incredibly talented and with such busy schedules, four alternates were chosen to assist the 12-member council when needed.
The mission of the Mayor’s Youth Council is to (1) provide ongoing and direct input on government policies and practices that may affect young people, (2) advocate on issues and initiatives that may impact the lives of young people, (3) recommend and foster initiatives for and by youth, (4) act as a communication link between municipal government and the young people of Crawfordsville and Montgomery County, and (5) promote and recognize the abilities, accomplishments, and contributions of young people in our community.
“We are looking forward to engaging this group of impressive young people,” said Barton. “It’s important that we seek the youth perspective as we continue to create a community that is attractive to our children and grandchildren.
Participation on the Council will include reviewing and providing input on proposed ordinances and reporting their position at City Council and County Commissioners meetings, creating a budget for the Youth Council, and completing a quarterly community service project.
The 2018/2019 appointees are:
• Representing Crawfordsville High School –
Sara Adams, Junior
Faith Galbert, Junior
Drake Hayes, Junior
Alternate – Trinity Kunkel, Senior
• Representing North Montgomery High School -
Sierrah Chapman, Sophomore
Dawson Odle, Junior
Arianna Wright, Junior
Alternate – Jaida Clark, Sophomore
• Representing Southmont High School –
Quincy McCutchan, Junior
Mia Myers, Sophomore
Jane Scheidler, Sophomore
Alternate – Logan Berrisford, Sophomore
• Representing Montgomery County Leadership Academy –
Pamela Hernandez, Junior at North Montgomery
Ellen Laffoon, Sophomore at North Montgomery
Shawn Mountcastle, Junior at Southmont
Alternate – Layla Bennett, Junior at North Montgomery
Along with Barton, the selection committee comprised:
City Council Liaison: Jennifer Lowe, City Councilwoman
City Liaison: Brandy Allen, Director Planning & Community Development
County Liaison: John Frey, Commissioner
Advisor: Charley German, Retired educator