INDIANAPOLIS-Waynetown Fire Chief Phil Pirtle was awarded the distinction of being named Fire Chief of the Year (Volunteer) by the Indiana Emergency Response Conference.

The conference is for firefighters, emergency medical services (EMS), law enforcement, hazardous materials professionals, special operations and those who are part of Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs)," stated a press release.

 The IERC was planned by the Indiana Fire Chiefs Association, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security and Public Safety Medical.

 Nominations can be made by any emergency response personnel, or other person that has been aided by a department they are nominating. Narrative about the recipients has been taken from nomination applications.

Nominees for this award must be actively involved in fire organizations, fire prevention education, training and safety improvement. From the nomination form: Phil Pirtle has been a member of the Waynetown Fire Department since 1980, and chief since 1992. A member of the LEPC, Pirtle is known for thinking outside the box and being creative to get a job done. His efforts in response are off the charts. He has opened the firehouse to the community and stranded motorists during the winter months, provided hot meals at all hours, and utilized snowmobiles to aid in life-saving measures. He is proactive in helping not only his department, but also departments in adjacent counties. He attends other counties' LEPC meetings, and is dedicated to serving his community and those around him.