The Paper photo illustration by Lori Poteet
The Paper photo illustration by Lori Poteet
Joining Player of the Year Devon Burton on The Paper of Montgomery County's All-County team are Nathan Rogers (NM), Cody Thomas (S), Drake Cooksey (S), and Hank Horner (CHS).

Rogers was the unanimous runner up for the county's top player honors. His 411 points gave him an average of 21.6 points per game. This was second best in the Sagamore conference. Rogers was also the Chargers' top rebounder with 90 boards over 19 games. The senior accomplished all of this while being double and tripled teamed virtually the entire season.Rogers ran point for the Chargers and offered up 42 assists on the season. The senior shot over 48 percent from the field and 34 percent from beyond the arc.

Thomas and Cooksey were Southmont's primary offensive producers along with Burton. Thomas was third in the county with 312 points on over 40 percent from the three point line. Thomas offered up 92 assists on the year, which was second only to Burton's 123. Additionally, Thomas broke Austin Burton's single game assist record with 13. In addition to All-County, Thomas and Cooksey were named to the All-Senior and All-Defense teams for their senior seasons. Cooksey was right behind Thomas in the scoring department and finished with 193 points. He was also the County's leading rebounder and was third in the conference on the boards. Cooksey played a hybrid position for the Mounties that put him anywhere on the court. Cooksey shot an impressive 56 percent from inside the line and over 31 percent from long range. Thomas and Cooksey were invaluable on a Southmont team that aquired 16 wins.

Horner wore many hats for the Athenians in his junior season. Their leading scorer with 222 points, he often ran point and orchestrated the offense. Horner also showed capability getting to the basket and hitting the long ball. The junior connected on 30 three pointers and shot over 42 percent from inside the arc. Horner led Crawfordsville with 52 assists and 25 steals.

The All-County Team was selected by the county coaches and the staff of The Paper.