The first organizational meeting for the formation of an athletic conference was held in Lebanon, Ind. on Oct. 11, 1966. The early pioneers were Donald French and Roland Cutter of Brownsburg, Dale Graham and Bill Shepherd of Carmel, Ward Brown and Robert Barton of Crawfordsville, Raymond Kennedy and Richard Ricker of Frankfort, Kenneth Dooley and Jim Gabbard of Lebanon and Maynard Wolf and Corliss LeCount of Noblesville.

On Dec. 3, 1966, the school officials of Brownsburg, Carmel, Crawfordsville, Frankfort, Lebanon and Noblesville announced to the news media that the new conference had been formed and had selected the name "Sagamore" - the Abnaki Indian name for the tribal chief or ruler who was elected because of his qualifies of leadership and his dignity as an individual, to honor the memory of the noble chieftains of the Indian tribes which once roamed our domain. Thus the Sagamore Athletic Conference was born.

In the spring of 1967, champions in golf, track and baseball were decided by conference play. Beginning in the 1967-68 school year, champions were crowned in cross country, golf, track and wrestling by conference meets. Basketball and football champions were decided by the highest percentage of games won. On March 13, 1967 the principals and athletic directors met to approve a procedure for determining the winner of an All-Sports Trophy, to be presented for the first time at the close of the 1970-71 school year.

In the spring of 1973, Carmel announced plans to withdraw from the conference at the close of the 1973-74 school year. Later that spring, North Montgomery was accepted as a new member replacing Carmel, beginning in 1975-76. In the spring of 1979, Noblesville announced for reasons similar to those of Carmel, that they, too, would be withdrawing from the conference at the end of the 1978-79 school year.

In the fall of 1981, Western Boone was invited to join the conference to replace Noblesville. On Nov. 30, 1982 it was announced to the news media that Western Boone had become a member of the Sagamore Athletic Conference beginning with the 1982-83 school year.

In the fall of 1984, Southmont submitted a written application to join the Sagamore Athletic Conference. Following the review committee's report at the February meeting, Southmont was voted in as a full member of the conference beginning with the 1985-86 school year. The February meeting of 1985 also witnessed the withdrawal of Brownsburg from the conference at the end of the 1984-85 school year.

In the fall of 1995, the SAC executive council began to consider the expansion of the conference. By the fall of 1997, serious dialogue was established with Danville High School to join the SAC. Tri-West H.S. was also contacted for their interest. On Jan. 20, 1998, Danville and Tri-West were both accepted into the SAC, expanding it to an eight-school conference.

Danville and Tri-West became the 10th and 11th schools to belong to the SAC and bring with the rich athletic traditions in competition. The two schools began to compete for the All-Conference title in the 1999-2000 school year.